top of page
Search

The Trolley Dilemma

Killing one person to save five people seems like the obvious choice to some people in this situation. For me, it is more complex than that. Today, I was faced with a conflict I have been pushing away for months. Should I continue being miserable at my job and help those who need it, or should I omit myself from that position and try to be happy on my own knowing they need my help? To some, the answer would be to keep the job even though I am not happy. To others, happiness is all that matters. So what if they are relying on you, if you aren't happy, you shouldn't be in that position. Internally, I kept balancing out the pros and cons of all my choices. While I don't want to harm the people I am working for, I also don't want to keep forking away my happiness. Normally, I would just cry and continue being miserable. Instead, I decided to call someone for some assistance to see if I was being too over the top and dramatic about the situation. This person confirmed what I was already thinking, "why would you stay somewhere where you are miserable?" Just because they say they rely on me doesn't mean they actually need me. People are replaceable, and I for one, know there are many other people who would be happy to hold the position I was in. As I emailed my employer and put all the blame on myself for leaving, they weren't as upset as I thought they would be. I know they were probably frustrated because they need help, but they are also capable of taking on extra work or hiring another person to help them. It is sad to leave this job because I really enjoyed it, but I am happy that this door closed because another door can open for me. Surprisingly, it happened a lot faster than I thought it would. I received two job interviews for two different bakeries. I love baking and have always wanted to work in a bakery. The stars are finally aligning for me this summer, and all it took was for me to let go and move on. As the saying goes, sometimes it hurts more to hold on than to let go. This is me, letting go and moving forward in a *positive* manner.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

FIIMY

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page